Poetry

be mine

cracking skin
scaling knuckles and fingertips
look at me, see me
call me back

games can’t save me,
no matter how they try
in every sense of the word,
i’ve got to sleep
but i’m so restless

we can strive
but we’re dying from lack of right words
lack of an honest verse
tell me where to go from here
mindsets and regrets
take me all the way down

but i’ve been up and all around these streets
and they got me so high
but they couldn’t clear my head
clear this dust from my eyes

if this is how we live
restless wandering
through dream lands
and waking speeches
if this is what we talk about
daily matters of the heart
oh and how it gets in the way of our head
until all the world crumbles and makes no sense

like how need to sing
but our throats are soar and it doesn’t come out right
but i
am asleep on the stand where i am

take me down again
give me an ending that makes it feel right
so you shaved the mess from your head
and now you want it all back again?
just go strutting down
you don’t have to fool me anymore.

this is all one big puzzle piece
and i am a game in myself
play me?

cause we all have our fatal flaws
and tonight,
i was hoping i could be yours.

Leave a comment